In the Studio

Careful planning.

Careful planning.

I received a wonderful commission recently, a client loved Caora Creag so much that they commissioned me to create a bag inspired by the colours and textures that made our standing stones so realistic.

Measure twice, cut once.

Measure twice, cut once.

It was an interesting prospect and technically quite challenging.  When I was creating the felt that would become our stone circle, it was a very organic process, each piece a different size and shape with differing arrangements of colours and surface textures – a bespoke, made-to-measure bag required an entirely different approach.

I calculated the size and shape that I needed the piece to end up and I worked back from there.  The planning stage took a fair wee while, calling on rusty old geometry skills and paper maquette making to think through the process before I started cutting the many resists required.

Selecting the fleece.

Selecting the fleece.

Carding the white fleece.

Carding the white fleece.

And then finally I could get my hands on the fibre!

All of fibre used in this commission was scoured, local fleece and I adore using it in my work.

As I wanted to construct the bag seamlessly, it took quite a few well thought out steps to construct …

1. Lay fleece and felt core for the strap – allow to dry.

2. Lay out and felt raw fleece onto the strap core – allow to dry.

3. Arrange the raw fleece and felt to a pre-felt stage to create the outer layer of the bag – allow to dry.

4. Attach and felt in the toggle to close the bag and the strap – allow to dry.

5. Turn bag over and start working on building up the layers to construct the inside.

Layout fibre for bag outer.

Layout fibre for bag outer.

Beginning to construct the inside.

Beginning to construct the inside.

6. Lay out carded white fibre and resist for each layer, felt to a pre-felt stage, allow to dry and repeat until all layers complete.

7. Client tried bag on for fit and sizing tweaks.

8. Full the complete bag to the required size.

 

 

 

You’ll need to remind me to post a picture of the finished bag once the client has taken delivery of it but I have to say that I’m quietly pleased with how it turned out.

Ready for fulling.

Ready for fulling.

2 thoughts on “In the Studio

Leave a Reply

